Fri, 14 June 2024

50th Years Anniversary of the Association of European Journalists

Must read

The AEJ’s 2012 Congress and Assembly in Offida, in Italy’s east coast Marche region from October 25 to 28, gathered the widest ever selection of journalists from twenty countries from east and west Europe.

The occasion marked AEJ’s 50 anniversary, and the association received messages of congratulations from Giorgio Napolitano and Mario Monti, President and Prime Minister of the Italian Republic; European Commission Vice-President Neelie Kroes; Council of Europe Secretary-General Thorbjorn Jagland; Gianni Pitella and Georgios Papastamkos, Vice-Presidents of the European Parliament; Anna Maria Darmanin, Vice-President of the European Economic and Social Committee; and Diogo Pinto, Secretary-General of European Movement International.

International AEJ President Eileen Dunne and Nuccio Fava, president of AEJ Italia, opened the Congress. Ms Dunne said: ‘As we celebrate today, we can be really proud of our Association, from being in the doldrums a few years ago – the messages sent to us on our 50th anniversary demonstrate how our reputation has been restored with organisations like the EU Commission, the European Parliament, the Council of Europe, the EESC and the European Movement all of whom we continue to work alongside’.

Many heartfelt thanks for AEJ Italia, that organised the 50th Congress and General Assembly 2012, with Carmelo Occhino, AEJ Italy’s Secretary-General, as an inspiring leader. Also many thanks for Valerio Lucciarini de Vincenzi and Piero Antimiani, mayor and deputy mayor of the Commune of Offida, which offered the AEJ such a warm and excellent hospitality.

Messages of congratulations:

Giorgio Napolitano, President of the Italian Republic

Mario Monti, Prime Minister of Italy

Neelie Kroes, European Commission – Vice President responsible for Digital Agenda

Gianni Pitella, European Parliament – Vice President

Georgios Papastamkos, European Parliament – Vice President

Thorbjorn Jagland, Council of Europe (CoE) – Secretary General

Anna Maria Darmanin, EESC – Vice President

Diogo Pinto, European Movement International – Secretary General

More articles

Latest article