Sun, 21 April 2024

Armenia: ‘Time for Free Press’ prize

Must read

On the eve of May 3, the World Press Freedom Day, Edik Baghdasaryan, the founder member of the Armenian Section of AEJ was awarded the “Time for Free Press” prize for his investigating position and professional courage. The award was presented on behalf of the Yerevan Press Club, Journalists Union of Armenia, Internews Armenia and the Freedom of Speech Defense Committee.

“In reality, the press is free it is just necessary to use it in a right way”, Baghdasaryan said. Chairwoman of the Union of Journalists Astghik Gevorgyan said there are very few critics like Edik Baghdasaryan in Armenian press. He is the one to implement the function of the fourth power. Chairman of the Yerevan Press Club Boris Navasardyan said, this year’s winner proves that by overcoming impediments it is possible to do your own work.

More articles

Latest article