Wed, 19 June 2024

President Barroso attends AEJ Belgium award ceremony for Young Journalists.

Must read

In the Berlaymont building in Brussels, on Europe Day – May 9, former Eurocommissioners Etienne Davignon and Karel van Miert awarded the prizes with their names to two young Belgian journalists.

The prizes are an initiative of AEJ Belgium in cooperation with the Head of the Representation of the European Commission in Belgium, Willy Hélin.

The winner of the Etienne Davignon Prize was Baptiste Hupin, a young journalist of the francophone radiostation RTBF, for his reportage about integration of Roma’s. The Karel van Miert Prize went to Annelien De Greef, a young talented journalist of the leading Flemish daily ‘De Standaard’, for her article about ‘nationalist devils’ in Croatia.

The award ceremony took place in the presence of José Manuel Barroso, the President of the European Commission, the Belgian Prime Minister Herman Van Rompuy and the Belgian European Commissioner Louis Michel.

More articles

Latest article