AEJ Organisation

Elected Officers

At the 2022 AEJ General Assembly the following officers were elected for a 2 years term: President Isaia Tsaousidou,Greece General Secretary Edward Steen, Austria Vice-President   Javier F. Arribas, Spain Vice-President  Tibor Macak, Slovakia Vice-President Guiseppe Jacobini, Italy Treasurer  Pat Humphreys, UK
Representative for Brussels Gian Paolo Arcado, France                        Representative for Media Freedom Kyriakos Pieridis, Cyprus ==================================================== Athanase Papandropoulos Greece, Diego Carcedo Spain and Eileen Dunne Ireland are Honorary Presidents of the AEJ. Carmelo Occhino Italy and Dogan Tilic Turkey are Honorary Vice – Presidents. Miguel Angel Aguilar Spain, Juraj Alner Slovakia, Peter Kramer Belgium are Honorary Secretary Generals. AFTER MODIFIED STATUTES (decision of AEJ Int. General Assembly of 23 November 2013, in Brussels) CAME IN FORCE ON 12 DECEMBER 2013, ABOVE MENTIONED ELECTED OFFICERS AND SPECIAL REPRESENTATIVES MAKE UP  AEJ INT. BOARD AEJ Int. Audit Committee  Javier Martin-Dominguez, Spain Hasan Kahvecioglu, Cyprus Lampros Rodis, Greece Tim Ryan, Ireland David Worsfold, UK AEJ Int. Arbitration Committee Brindusa Armanca, Romania Eileen Dunne, Ireland Pedro Gonzalez Martinez, Spain Panagiotis Sfaelos, Greece
Short presentations of the board members: Isaia Tsaousidou, Greece President of the International AEJ since February 2021 Greek-based freelance journalist; Professor in private school of journalism. Editor-in-chief of, HephaestusWien Vice President of the International AEJ  October 2010- February 2021. Treasurer of the International AEJ 2004-2010.            President of the Greek section Edward Steen, Austria Secretary General since February 2021 Gen-Sec was a columnist at the FT, then foreign feature writer at the London Sunday Telegraph, covering inter alia Polish Solidarnosc, French and German elections etc, the Middle East and the Ugandan civil war. He helped recruit and establish the London Independent, and was its founding editor for Central and Eastern Europe. Later a political adviser at the European Parliament, he subsequently joined the then Economist-owned European Voice in Brussels. Educated in Africa, France, and at Cambridge University, where he read English, he lives in Vienna and has dual Irish and Austrian citizenship. Javier Fernandez Arribas, Spain                                                      Vice President  Vice President of the International AEJ since October 2010; member of executive committee of the Spanish AEJ since 2004; was news and program editor of Punto Radio (Vocento) since 2004 and is now freelance political analyst for TVE, CNN+ and Telemadrid. Tibor Macak, Slovakia                                                                     Vice President  AEJ’s Secretary General 2012- February 2021. He is Secretary General of AEJ Slovak section since 2008. He works as editor and commentator by public Slovak radio and television RTVS, foreign news desk. Former was correspondent of public Slovak news Agency TASR in Germany and wrote also articles about foreign politics for some slovak print media.
Guiseppe Jacobini, Italy
Vice President 
Pat Humphreys, UK  

Representative for Brussels: Gian Paolo Arcado, France      

Representative for Media Freedom: Kyriakos Pieridis, Cypru

====================================================== Special Representatives AEJ Representative for Brussels  Gian Paolo Arcado, France                 Representative for Media Freedom   Kyriakos Pieridis, Cyprus
HONORARY MEMBERS OF THE BOARD Honorary President Athanase Papandropoulos International Honorary President since 1998; Former International President 1992-1998; President of the Greek section since 2008; Columnist at the daily newspapers “Estia”, “Naftemporiki” and the weekly “Kosmos”; Anchorman for financial matters at SBC TV; Editorial consultant at “European Business Review” magazine. Diego Carcedo  President of the Spanish section of the AEJ since 2004, Honorary President of the AEJ since 2010, and its President from 2006 till 2010. He has directed RNE, Spain’s public radio station, as well as several departments at RTVE. Now he collaborates with several media including newspapers and radio stations. Eileen Dunne Native of Dublin, Ireland. She was the International President of AEJ  2010-2014. She works as a senior Newscaster with RTE, Ireland’s national radio and television station, presenting the flagship 9 o’clock news. She has been a member of the AEJ since the early 1990s and Chair of the Irish section since 2002. Honorary Vice President Carmelo Occhino                                                                        Honorary Vice-President of the International AEJ since October 2010 and Secretary-General of AEJ Italy; ex Vice-President of the International AEJ (2006-2010); was editor farming and environment news of RAI and is now freelance. L. Dogan Tilic Assoc. Prof. Dr., Honorary Vice-President of the AEJ since October 2012 and President of AEJ Turkey, works as reporter since 1986 and a lecturer at Turkey’s Middle East Technical University. Turkey reporter of Spain’s Agencia EFE, Columnist in Turkish daily BirGun. As reporter, he has been to several conflict areas such as Afghanistan, Iraq, Azerbaijan and Yugoslavia. He is actively engaged in journalistic organisations and served as chairperson or executive board member of both national and international journalists’ associations. He found the AEJ Turkish Section and served as International Vice President of AEJ for several years. He is spokesperson of the G-9 Platform, which is an umbrella for the 12 leading Turkish journalists’ associations and actively working in the Freedom For Journalists Platform (GOP) of Turkey. He has got several journalistic awards, written academic articles and 5 books. Miguel Angel Aguilar  AEJ’s Honorary Secretary General, is Secretary General of the Association of European Journalists in Spain since it was founded in 1981. He has also been Secretary General of AEJ. His career started at Diario Madrid during the Spanish dictatorship, and continued in La Libre Belgique, Diario 16 and some others. Today, he collaborates with El Pais, Cadena SER, Telecinco and other top Spanish media. Honorary Secretary General Juraj Alner PhDr., AEJ’s Honorary Secretary General, journalist and pedagogue; 1964 – 1968 editor of daily newspaper Lud; 1970-1989 released from his job as ,”anticommunist”, not allowed to publicize; November 1989 working together with the Students Committee and the “People against Violence” during the revolutionary movement; 1993-2007 founder and president of the Slovak section of the Association of European Journalists (AEJ); 2002-2004 AEJ international secretary general; since 1993 Team Europe member (EU); 1994-2012 Secretary general of the Paneuropean Union Slovakia; 1996 Slovak journalist Award; 1997 Silver Medal from the President of the Slovak Republic; 1998 European Journalism Prize; since 2011 Honorary international secretary general of the AEJ. Author of hundreds articles, books (e.g. books of European integration, novels, poetry). N. Peter Kramer He was AEJ Representative for ‘Brussels’. From 2004 till 2012 he was AEJ’s International Secretary General. He was also Secretary-General of the Belgian AEJ Section (2003-2010) and of the Dutch AEJ Section (1992-1998). Brussels based Editor-in-chief and EU correspondent for European Business Review (magazine and website) since 2004; author (most recent publication Het Brussels Labyrinth). He is an advisor to the board of the EurActiv Foundation.